Article Posted by Table Tennis Scotland




In recent years Gavin, has undertaken roles within the ITTF commentary team at various World Championships. Following on from this an exciting new role for Gavin has now been announced.

Gavin will link up with the commentating team consisting of John Burgess, Richard Drewe, Jill Parker and one other to be announced in the upcoming weeks at the upcoming T2 league in the Asia-pacific.

The news came as a pleasant surprise for Gavin who said, “It’s a real honour for me to be approached to commentate in this exciting new format. It will be a test for the players and will be a treat to commentate on”. He went on to say, “The Prize money at this event is spot on and hopefully it will only progress further for these top-level players”.

Gavin was delighted with the call up, “the team have been very welcoming and understanding to my busy schedule on the World Tour circuit, the team allowed me to select the dates that suited me which doesn’t always happen at this level”.

The T2 league will employ a never before seen system that the world is excited to see.

“T2 APAC will showcase a unique competition model as well as innovative features such as the virtual T2 ARENA; cutting-edge production values integrating Ultra-Slow Motion presentation; a player draft system; time limit for each match; and a unique scoring system. By ensuring a level playing field and unpredictability of outcome, audiences and fans around the world can expect edge-of-your-seat competitive excitement throughout the season”. ( )

This new innovative design will be sure to draw in more spectators and can only grow the sport.

Gavin will begin his journey on the T2 league in round 1 in June 2017 before playing in the Australian Platinum Pro Tour from July 2nd until July 7th. Paul Drinkhall is also travelling with Gavin to the T2 league as he will be one of the top players competing for the $1.5 million prize fund.

Gavin and TTS wishes Paul every success in this event and hopes there is exciting play for Gavin to commentate on

The following players are set to compete;

Jun Mizutani JPN
Vladimir Samsonov BLR
Joo SaeHyuk KOR
Paul Drinkhall ENG
Chen Chien-An TPE
Aleksandr Shibaev RUS
Timo Boll GER
Chuang Chih-Yuan TIAWEN
Mattias Karlsson SWE
Dimitrij Ovtcharov GER

Tomokazu Harimoto JPN

Ding Ning CHN
Elizabeta Samara ROU
Bernadette Szocs ROU
Jeon Jihee KOR
Georgina Pota HUN
Matilda Ekholm SWE
Cheng I-Ching TPE
Yang Haeun
Suthasini Sawettabut THA

Feng Tian Wei SIN

Jorgen Persson SWE
Jiang Jia Liang CHN
Michael Maze DEN

Jorg Roskopf GER

Round 1. June 28 – June 30
Round 2. July 11 – July 15
Round 3. Aug 1 – Aug 5
Round 4. Sept 19 – Sept 23
Round 5. Oct 3 – Oct 7
Round 6. Oct 31 – Nov 4

Grand Finals. Dec 7 – Dec 9